13/01/23, 19:00

The Danish composer Hans Abrahamsen (1952) wrote the composition let me tell you between 2012 and 2013, commissioned by the Berlin Philharmonic, who premiered it under the baton of Andris Nelsons and with the phenomenal soprano Barbara Hannigan as soloist on December 20, 2013 in Berlin. Since then, the piece has seen many other performances on renowned world stages and won a number of prestigious awards, including the Grawemeyer Prize and the Diapason d'Or.
The author of the libretto, Paul Griffiths, tells the story of Ophelia from Shakespeare's Hamlet, but from the point of view of the heroine herself. He captures her feelings and creates poetic images from them, which in Abrahamsen's music take on an impressive charge, graduated in the end, when Hamlet becomes the sun for Ophelia, she turns into the object of his reflection, but the painful foreshadowing of Ophelia's last journey through the English winter is already echoing in the background the landscape where the heroine gives up her love.

EDVARD GRIEG Peer Gynt, selection from suite op. 46 and 55
HANS ABRAHAMSEN let me tell you for soprano and orchestra
JEAN SIBELIUS Symphony No. 5 in E flat major op. 82

Nicole Chevalier soprano
Brno Philharmonic
conductor Michael Schønwandt