Musica Florea is preparing a concert entitled The Unknown Leoš Janáček and the Beginnings of Baroque

18 March 2024, 1:00
Musica Florea is preparing a concert entitled The Unknown Leoš Janáček and the Beginnings of Baroque

The Musica Florea ensemble is preparing a new concert programme to be performed for the first time this April. This year marks the 170th anniversary of Leoš Janáček's birth, and to mark the occasion the ensemble has taken up his earliest compositions to set them alongside works from the early Italian Baroque. Musica Florea will be performing with conductor Mark Štryncl. The soloists will be Barbora Kabátková, Stanislava Mihalcová, Daniela Čermáková, Hasan El Dunia and Jaromír Nosek.

This year's anniversary of Leoš Janáček's birth is being celebrated as part of the Year of Czech Music by the Musica Florea ensemble, whose repertoire now includes works from the Renaissance to Romanticism. The new programme will present the composer's early works. Leoš Janáček learned basso continuo and counterpoint from the age of 11, and gradually became familiar with Baroque and Renaissance compositional techniques. He embodied them mainly in small liturgical vocal compositions on Latin texts or in several polyphonic compositions that have only recently been discovered. A certain unobtrusive innovation in these early compositions bears the mark of the period when music was transitioning from the Renaissance to the Baroque. Baroque brought an emphasis on emotion and became a time during which new means and forms of expression were discovered. The concert entitled The Unknown Leoš Janáček and the Beginnings of Baroque will take place on 10 April 2024 at 19:00 in the Convent of the Merciful Brothers.

“It is obvious that the liturgical compositions of the barely twenty-year-old Leoš Janáček were written independently, over and above his school duties and curricula. They were often based on Gregorian chants, with the organ added to the singers' voices in a few cases, yet maintaining only a supporting role," conductor Marek Štryncl explains. “Therefore, we have taken the liberty of enriching the accompaniment with string instrumentation, without adding or detracting anything from the composer'' intention."

The programme will be supplemented with works by composers from the early Italian Baroque and previous periods. As listeners will hear for themselves, Janáček's early compositions are of a similar character, testifying to his high sense of compositional style, which captivated him as if the gap of centuries between them did not exist at all. Alongside Janáček, Giovanni Gabrielli, Alessandro Grandi, Gregorio Allegri, Giovanni Battista Bovicelli and Giovanni Valentini will also be heard. The Musica Florea ensemble will perform as a chamber ensemble with guest soloists: Barbora Kabátková and Stanislava Mihalcová (soprano), Daniela Čermáková (alto), Hasan El Dunia (tenor) and Jaromír Nosek (bass).

Musica Florea: The Unknown Leoš Janáček and the Beginnings of Baroque

Featuring: Musica Florea and soloists, conductor: Marek Štryncl

Soprano: Barbora Kabátková, Stanislava Mihalcová, alto: Daniela Čermáková, tenor: Hasan El Dunia, bass: Jaromír Nosek


Leoš Janáček (1854-1928): Introitus In nomine Iesu

Giovanni Gabrielli (1554-1612): Canzon à 5

Leoš Janáček: Suscepimus Deus, Regnum mundi

Alessandro Grandi (1586–1630): Sonata SOPRA DEUS MISERATUR NOSTRI

Gregorio Allegri (1582–1652): Falsobordone – Miserere

Giovanni Valentini (1582–1649): Sonata à 5

Leoš Janáček: Exaudi Deus

Leoš Janáček: Fugue in A Major

Leoš Janáček: Exurge Domine, Communio – Fidelis servus

Marco Uccellini (1603–1680): Sinfonia decima nona à 4

Giovanni Battista Bovicelli (1550–1594) / Gabucci, Giovanelli: Falsobordone – Magnificat

Photo from the ensemble’s archive



No comment added yet..

Connection, unity, contemplation - these words can be used to describe the musical evening of Schola Gregoriana Pragensis under the direction of David Eben and organist Tomáš Thon, which took place yesterday as part of the Easter Festival of Sacred Music at the church of St. Thomas. Not only the singing of a Gregorian chant, but also the works of composer Petr Eben (1929-2007) enlivened the church space with sound and colour for an hour.  more

With a concert called Ensemble Inégal: Yesterday at the church of St. John, Zelenka opened the 31st edition of the Easter Festival of Sacred Music, this time with the suffix Terroir. This slightly mysterious word, which is popularly used in connection with wine, comes from the Latin word for land or soil, and carries the sum of all the influences, especially the natural conditions of a particular location and on the plants grown there. This term is thus metonymically transferred to the programme of this year's VFDH, as it consists exclusively of works by Czech authors, thus complementing the ongoing Year of Czech Musicmore

For the fourth subscription concert of the Philharmonic at Home serieswhich took place on 14 March at the Besední dům and was entitled Mozartiana, the Brno Philharmonic, this time under the direction of Czech-Japanese conductor Chuhei Iwasaki, chose four works from the 18th to 20th centuries. These works are dramaturgically linked either directly through their creation in the Classical period or by inspiration from musical practices typical of that period. The first half of the concert featured Martina Venc Matušínská with a solo flute.  more

The second stop on the short Neues Klavier Trio Dresden's Czech-German tour was at the concert hall of the Janáček Academy of Music on 6 March at 16:00. A programme consisting of world premières by two Czech and two German composers was performed in four cities (Prague, Brno, Leipzig and Dresden).  more

The last opera première of the National Theatre Brno this year was Hurvínek Sells the Bride, which was co-produced with the Spejbl and Hurvínek Theatre. The première continued the thematic focus associated with the Year of Czech Music and took place on 24 November in the large hall of the Reduta Theatre.  more